We had the coordinates and we knew it was beautiful. We also had the entry point … but we did not know exactly what awaited us inside.
It was late and we were discussing whether to go see or forget it, because the next day we would have the return trip in Italy with two locations to do, and there were so many kilometers, more than a thousand.
At the last moment we decided to do a patrol tour in the evening, with a deviation from the path of about 60 km.
Upon arriving we face an immense structure, spanning almost 300 meters high and at least 7 floors.
The operational area is located between a quarry (where they work hard) and a park run by firefighters where they are doing demonstrations to children.
Nevertheless, thanks to the dark, we can reach the point of entry, a window in the basement.
Just inside, a room with some pipe, some equipment, but nothing so exciting.
Our powerful torches begin to illuminate the environment.
What wonder, being inside an intact power plant, no graffiti, no vandalism … huge and beautiful.
We begin to explore to establish the best points that will help us tomorrow, when we go back for the photo. The time will not be longer than 4 hours, then we will have to take the way home.
We climb the metal stairs and come upstairs where we find the control room … with all the tools, levers and buttons. There are at least 3 identical, which control each of 3 furnaces. So we can divide and shot without disturbing each other.
So we decided the action plan and came back to hotel, the next day would be a great day.
Wake up at 6:00, entrance at 7:00 and out for 11:00 … that’s the plan.
Once we arrived and entered, we set our alarms (when exploring and photographing you usually not realize the passing of time) and turn on the radio to stay in touch.
Daylight and draws circles showing the central in all its immensity.
So much to see, and the desire to discover is high, then we begin to explore in search of the best areas.
Going into another part of the plant there are new control rooms and wide open spaces enclosed by railings.
Some items are put on display and then we had a suspicion, confirmed by some signs and a quick search on the net.
The construction of this building dates back to 1937 and remained operational until 1998.
It worked initially with lignite (you still find the tracks that was used for this combustible material) and then integrated with a gas system. There also wwere four big chimneys, demolished in 2001.
The first block (6 x 35 MW) was built between 1937 and 1940. From 1943 it started a major energy project business (first in the world) but, although completed in just two years, it never came into service.
After World War II, between 1953 and 1959, the center has been restored by adding a second block (12 x 36 MW) to adapt to the growing demand of energy for industrial and civil use.
Numerous other improvements continued over the years with the start of a power gas turbines, until it was finally closed in 1998.
However, this space was used until 2013 for events, art exhibitions and guided visit. That’s why the new hurdles and the objects on display.
Today it is closed and in abandonment, although there is guardians that came occasionally for routine checks.
The limited time did not allow us a full scan, but we have already scheduled another visit for the next year.